66th Yamaha Fascino Filmfare Awards South 2019

image-66th Yamaha Fascino Filmfare Awards South 2019 MediabriefThe 66th Yamaha Fascino Filmfare Awards South, hosted the 66th edition of its awards ‘to bestow the finest of South Indian silver screen. The who’s who of the south Indian film industry gathered on Saturday at Jawaharlal Nehru Indoor Stadium, Chennai for celebrating cinematic brilliance of Tamil, Telugu, Malayalam and Kannada films. The event will be aired on Vijay TV (Tamil), Maa TV (Telugu), Star Suvarna (Kannada) & Asianet (Malayalam). 

This starry affair began as the celebrities of these film industries flaunted their most glamorous and stylish avatar on the Red Carpet. Shruti Haasan looked like a princess straight out of a fairy tale in a long shimmering golden dress. The quintessential Trisha Krishnan rocked a red outfit while posing for the shutterbugs. Not just that, the red carpet of this star-studded affair saw the presence of eminent artists like Arvind Swami, K. Bhagyaraj, Manju Warrier, Sathya Raj, Sid Sriram, Manobala among many others. 

The award ceremony which recognized and awarded the best of talent in the South film industry also witnessed some spectacular performances and soulful acts. Sizzling South Diva – Celebrities such as Rakul Preet Singh set the stage on fire with her power-packed performance on the medley of AthilokaSundari and Ekbaaramong others.

Actress Rakul Preet Singh
Actress Rakul Preet Singh

Some of the other breath-taking acts were by Saniya Iyappan and Sree Leela who peaked the entertainment quotient of the night. The versatile actor Sundeep Kishan and talented Regina Cassandra were the hosts for the evening who entertained the audience with their funny anecdotes and comic timing. 

Speaking about the 66th edition of Filmfare Awards South, Deepak Lamba, CEO of Worldwide Media said, Since its inception, Filmfare Awards South has created a tradition for artists of four South Indian film industries to come together and celebrate their art. As Filmfare Awards South inches closer towards completing seven decades of awarding cinematic brilliance, it stands strong as the undisputed platform that recognizes the best of the film industry.“

Editor of Filmfare, Jitesh Pillaai also said,” In the past few years, the South film industry has been the source of some of the biggest and most iconic movies along with immensely talented artists that the country saw. Filmfare is honoured to acknowledge the proliferating talent that the Southern film industry produces every year.”

While the title sponsor for the event was Yamaha Fascino, associate sponsors were Dazller Eterna, Vimal Elaichi, and Luker Led USA. The awards were powered by The Luxuriously Crafted Alturas G4. Telecast partners’ Maa TV, Vijay TV, Star Suvarna & Asianet. The Decor Partner for the event was Kataria Tiles.

Divas at 66th Yamaha Fascino Filmfare Awards South 2019
Actress Raiza Wilson, Abhirami Venkatachalam, and Yashika Annand

Final Winners list – 66th Filmfare Awards South


Best Film – Pariyerum Perumal

Best Director – Ram Kumar (Ratsasan)

Best Actor In A Leading Role Male  (Popular) – Dhanush (Vada Chennai) Vijay Sethupathi (’96)

Best Actor Critics – Arvind Swami (ChekkaChivanthaVaanam)

Best Actor In A Leading Role Female (Popular) – Trisha (’96)

Best Actress Critics – Aishwarya Rajesh (Kanaa)

Best Actor In A Supporting Role (Male) – Satyaraj (Kanaa)

Best Actor In A Supporting Role (Female) – Saranya Ponvannan (KolamavuKokila)

Best Music Album – Govind Vasantha (’96)

Best Playback Singer  (Male) – Sid Sriram (Hey Penne- PyaarPremaKaadhal)

Best Playback Singer (Female) – Chinmayi (KaathalaeKaathalae – ’96)

Best Lyrics– Karthik Netha (KaathalaeKaathalae – ’96)


Best Film – Mahanati 

Best Director – Nag Ashwin (Mahanati)

Best Actor In A Leading Role Male  (Popular) – Ram Charan (Rangasthalam)

Best Actor Critics– Dulquer Salman (Mahanti)

Best Actor In A Leading Role Female (Popular) – Keerthi Suresh (Mahanati)

Best Actress Critics – Rashmika Mandanna (GeethaGovindam)

Best Actor In A Supporting Role (Male) – Jagapati Babu (AravindaSamethaVeeraRaghava)

Best Actor In A Supporting Role (Female ) – Anasuya Bharadwaj (Rangasthalam)

Best Music Album –Devi Sri Prasad – (Rangasthalam)

Best Lyrics – Chandrabose – YenthaSakkagunnaave (Rangasthalam)

Best Playback Singer (Male) – Sid Sriram – InkemInkemInkemKaavaale  (GeethaGovindam)

Best Playback Singer (Female) –Shreya Ghoshal — MandaraaMandaraa  (Bhaagamathie)


Best Movie – Kgf

Best Director – Mansore (Nathicharami)

Best Actor In A Leading Role Male  (Popular) – Yash (Kgf)

Best Actor Critics –Sathish Ninasam  (Ayogya)

Best Actor In A Leading Role Female (Popular) – Manvitha Kamath (Tagaru)

Best Actress Critics– Sruthi Hariharan (Nathicharami)

Best Actor In A Supporting Role (Male)– Dhananjay (Tagaru)

Best Actor In A Supporting Role (Female) -Sharanya (Nathicharami)

Best Playback Singer (Male) –Sanjith Hegde — Shaakuntle Sikkalu  (NaduveAntaravirali)

Best Playback Singer (Female)– Bindhumalini – Bhaavalokada (Nathicharami)

Best Lyrics – Dr. H S Venkatesh Murthy – Sakkareya Paakadali (Hasiru Ribbon)

Best Music Album –Vasuki Vaibhav (Sarkari Hi. Pra.Shaale, Kasaragodu, Koduge: RamannaRai)


Best Film – Sudani From Nigeria

Best Director –Lijo Jose Pellissery (Ee.Ma.Yau.)      

Best Actor In A Leading Role Male  (Popular) –Joju George (Joseph)

Best Actor Critics – Soubin Shahir (Sudani From Nigeria)

Best Actor In A Leading Role Female (Popular) –Manju Warrier (Aami)

Best Actress Critics – Nimisha Sajayan (Eeda)

Best Actor In A Supporting Role (Male) – Vinayakan (Ee.Ma.Yau)

Best Actor In A Supporting Role (Female) – Savithri Sreedharan (Sudani From Nigeria)

Best Music Album –Kailas Menon (Theevandi)

Best Lyrics –B.K. Harinarayanan- Jeevamshamayi  (Theevandi)

Best Playback Singer (Male) – Vijay Yesudas– Poomuthole  (Joseph)

Best Playback Singer (Female) – Anne Amie – Aararo (Koode)


Best Debut (Female) – Raiza Wilson (- PyaarPremaKaadhal) (Tamil ) SaniyaIyyapan (Queen) (Malayalam)

Technical Awards

Best Cinematography – R. Rathnavelu (Rangasthalam)

Best Choreography – Prabhu Deva, Jani (Rowdy Baby- Maari 2)

Life Time Achievement– Hariharan

Your thoughts, please