SPSN’s ‘The Blue Revolution’ revisits India’s 1985 B&H Cricket World Championship campaign

Sony Ten presents The Medal of Glory, on digital, about India's Olympic heroes

Sony Pictures Sports Network (SPSN) aims to galvanize the passion that millions of Indians have for cricket by showcasing the best moments from the historical tournament that had the Indian cricket team donning the blue jersey, in the series, ‘The Blue Revolution’. The 12-part series revisits India’s landmark victory in the 1985 B&H World Championship of Cricket which was the first major tournament India won in colored clothing and established its dominance in cricket across the globe.

SPSN deep dives into the historical archives to revisit the victorious campaign of the 1985 B&H World Championship of Cricket in ‘The Blue Revolution’ and will showcase how India marked its dominance in cricket, ultimately giving rise to the term ‘Men in Blue. Cricket fans will relive the action-packed iconic performances from the 1985 Indian team as they paved their way towards reaffirming their status as world champions after a string of disappointing results since the 1983 World Cup win in England.Watch Rajdeep Sardesai LIVE in conversation with Ravi Shastri on 5th May 2020

The series launches on 4th May 2020 and will be aired exclusively on SONY SIX and SONY SIX HD channels from 8:30 PM.

As a part of the build-up to the marquee episodes and matches, SPSN has organized a series of live interactive chat sessions with some of the Indian cricket legends and heroes of the unbeaten class of ’85 – Ravi Shastri, Roger Binny, Madan Lal and Laxman Sivaramakrishnan. The sessions will be hosted by Rajdeep Sardesai and Joy Bhattacharya, and sports enthusiasts can watch them in conversation LIVE at @SonySportsIndia, the official Facebook page of Sony Pictures Sports Network.

The World Championship of Cricket was a ‘mini’ World Cup played between seven teams: India, Australia, England, Pakistan, New Zealand, Sri Lanka and West Indies. Before touching down in Australia in 1985, the Indian team had lost three series on the bounce and were one of the least favorites to win the tournament, even after the heroic 1983 World Cup finals win over West Indies.  Led by the astute Sunil Gavaskar, the Indian team donned the Blue Jersey for the first time and went on to beat all teams in the series and eventually winning the finals against archrivals Pakistan. Since then, only one color has been associated with the Indian cricket team and this built the foundation for the ‘The Blue Revolution’.


Rajesh Kaul, Chief Revenue Officer, Distribution and Head – Sports Business, Sony Pictures Networks India, said, “The Blue Revolution covers one of the most iconic moments in our sporting history and commemorates the era where India established its supremacy in the world of Cricket. At that time our World Cup winning team had seen a dip in form, however, they answered all their critics as champions do – by winning the 1985 B&H World Championship of Cricket. The celebrations that ensued with Ravi Shastri and the team in the car as well as on the ground are iconic visuals of our rich cricketing heritage and we’re bringing back these memorable games for the Indian cricket fan.”

Rajdeep Sardesai, Consulting Editor, TV Today Network, said, “I remember getting up at 5:00 am in the morning to watch the Indian cricket team perform brilliantly at the B&H World Championship of Cricket in 1985. Winning the World Cup in 1983 was unexpected but we really proved that we are the best team in the world in 1985. The Blue Revolution series is a must-watch for all for its historical and nostalgic value. I am really looking forward to reliving those moments with the some of the heroes of the team who were a part of this landmark endeavor on the official Facebook page of Sony Sports.”

Watch the BLUE REVOLUTION starting from 4th May 2020 at 8:30 PM exclusively on SONY SIX and SONY SIX HD channels

Date Match Result
04.05.2020 England v Australia Australia won by 7 wickets
05.05.2020 Pakistan v India India won by 6 wickets
06.05.2020 New Zealand v Sri Lanka New Zealand won by 51 runs
07.05.2020 Pakistan v Australia Pakistan won by 62 runs
08.05.2020 India v England India won by 86 runs
09.05.2020 Sri Lanka v West Indies West Indies won by 8 wickets
11.05.2020 Pakistan v England Pakistan won by 67 runs
12.05.2020 Australia v India India won by 8 wickets
13.05.2020 New Zealand v India India won by 7 wickets
14.05.2020 West Indies v Pakistan Pakistan won by 7 wickets
15.05.2020 New Zealand v West Indies West Indies won by 86 wickets
16.05.2020 Final – Pakistan v India India won by 8 wickets

Your thoughts, please