Sony, Sky Sports, PTV acquire Lanka Premier League 2020 broadcast rights


Sony Pictures Networks (SPN) India has acquired the exclusive pay television & IPTV broadcast rights for the Lanka Premier League (LPL) India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Nepal, Bhutan & Maldives and non-exclusive FTA rights for the same countries excluding Sri Lanka.

Global sports broadcasting giant Sky Sports have won the rights for UK while state-owned Independent Television Network (ITN) have won the rights to telecast matches in Sri Lanka whereas Geo and PTV have won the telecast rights in Pakistan.

image - Rajesh Kaul of SPNI - MediabriefRajesh Kaul, Chief Revenue Officer, Distribution and Head – Sports Business, Sony Pictures Networks India, said, “We share a long-standing relationship with the Sri Lanka Cricket board and as the rights holders of Sri Lanka Cricket, this is a natural extension.”

“There is never enough cricket for India and the Lanka Premier League is a good brand of cricket that is set to feature many sub-continent players making it a very attractive addition to our cricket portfolio.”

“Sony Pictures Networks India is the premier destination for the best of international cricket and for us, it is not just about broadcasting an event but it’s about bringing people closer to the game. We are extremely happy to say that with Lanka Premier League we will be bringing that brand of cricket for our audience in India,” Kaul added.

Bryan Henderson, Director of Cricket, Sky Sports, said, “Sky Sports are delighted to be broadcasting the Lanka Premier League this year as the appetite for T20 cricket grows across the globe.”

“Sri Lankans have always played an exciting brand of limited overs cricket and we look forward to seeing more talent emerge from this tournament as well as following many other stars from around the world,” Henderson added.

image-Dr-Nauman-Niaz-head-of-PTV-Sports-and-PTV-Global-mediabrief.jpgDr Nauman Niaz, head of PTV Sports and PTV Global, said, “It’s indeed a pleasure to be associated with Lankan Premier League as broadcast partners. I believe, the show has to go on despite the challenges we face due to Covid-19 pandemic.”

“I congratulate all the stakeholders and IPG Group for providing us the opportunity of becoming part of a fantastic event. We shall give our best to contribute in its success,” Niaz said.

Ahsen Idris, Group CEO, Blitz Advertising (Pvt.) Ltd. said, “On behalf of Blitz Advertising (Pvt.) Ltd., the media marketing rights holders for Pakistan territory and its partner channels, PTV Sports and Geo Super, wish all the best to Lanka Premier League and IPG for staying put and organizing the event in these challenging times.”

“We are very glad in partnering with LPL and IPG and hopeful that the beautiful Island Nation and the star players will deliver a truly exciting and memorable experience to all the cricket enthusiasts all across Pakistan,” Idris added.

Sudath Rohana, ITN Chairman, said, “Sport has reach like few others and an immense power to bring positive social change through the actions and words of its athletes. Cricket is the sport Sri Lanka can associate itself with, and the game that can bring in that kind of change in the Island Nation. It gives me an immense sense of satisfaction to partner LPL and be part of this social change that will go a long way in helping the nation grow through cricket.”

Ravin Wickramaratne, SLC VP and LPL, Tournament Director, said, “LPL’s broadcasting partner’s—Sky, Sony, Geo and PTV—global reach will help the League grow in stature and will help the League connect with millions of fans across the globe.”

image-Anil-Mohan-CEO-IPG-mediabrief.jpgAnil Mohan, CEO of IPG, the Dubai-based promoters of LPL, said, “It gives me immense pleasure to welcome our broadcast partners—Sky, Sony, ITN, Geo and PTV—on board of this prestigious event and I can confidently say that their association is a great testament to the brand LPL.”

The LPL is scheduled to kick-off from 26th November till December 16, 2020 at Mahinda Rajapaksha International Cricket Stadium (MRIC) in Hambantota. Five franchisee teams, named after Colombo, Kandy, Galle, Dambulla and Jaffna, will compete in 23 matches over a 15-day period for the title.

Colombo will take on Kandy in the opening match and the final will be played on December 16, 2020. A galaxy of global stars which includes Shahid Afridi, Shoaib Malik, Angelo Mathews, Irfan Pathan and many more will be taking part in the 15-day extravaganza.

Where to watch in your country:

Licensee Territory(ies) Linear Channel Digital Channel
SONY India, Nepal, Bhutan,

Bangladesh, Maldives, Afghanistan

SONY SIX SonyLiv & Sony Liv App
KSport Bangladesh T Sports Robi MySports
Sportsmax Caribbean (Anguilla, Antigua & Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Martinique, Monserrat, St Kitts & Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago and

Turks and Caicos)

Sportsmax Cricket Live
SKY SPORT New Zealand SKY Sport Fan Pass App
Sky Sports United Kingdom & Ireland Sky Sports Cricket Now TV & Sky Go App
Etisalat United Arab Emirates and Saudi Arabia ELife Switch TV
Willow TV United States of America Willow Cricket
LIVENow United States of America

Television Afghanistan

Afghanistan RTA Sport Live
Asian Television Network Canada ATN Cricket Plus
LIVENow Australia
LIVENow Continental Europe (Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Monaco,

Montenegro, Netherlands, North Macedonia, Norway,

Your thoughts, please